Relish-ing my time at home

Firstly, apologies for the radio silence. A combination of a busy Bank Holiday and a couple of days feeling a bit under the weather…

This post is a bit more preserving fun. Last weekend my hubbie and number 1 son cut our rhubarb for the first time this year – they presented me with 1 stone of it! I’ve given some away, and some will be making its way into a crumble (of course!), but I have also tried a couple of preserves.

An annual favourite of mine is Rhubarb Chutney, but this year I have also tried Rhubarb Relish for the 1st time. You may have guessed, but this too is from the River Cottage Preserves book 🙂 I have to admit I am not really sure what the difference between chutney and relish is, but when I’ve tried them both I’ll see if I can let you know!

Step 1 – make up a spice bag of ginger, cloves and cinnamon

Step 2 – measure out sugar, vinegar and water into your preserving pan

Step 3 – add spice bag, dissolve sugar over heat, and then leave to infuse for 20mins (off heat)

Step 4 –  Whilst you are waiting, measure out raisins and chop lots of rhubarb!

Step 5 – once the 20mins are up, add your raisins and rhubarb to the pan, removing the spice bag

Step 6 – simmer until thickened but there are still some chunks of rhubarb visible. Take off heat for 10mins, then pot into sterilised jars. Can be eaten straight away (unlike chutney) and should last a year

Step 7 – enjoy with curries, cheese, cold meats, etc….! 🙂

Leave a Reply

