Foodie penpals – June reveal

This month has been very exciting on the foodie penpal front!

I despatched my parcel to Verity (of nutella fame) and am very pleased to have made a foodie buddy. I am hoping to convince her to pen a guest post of her box of goodies when she’s back off her holidays!

My parcel has come all the way from Amsterdam, from Mel at edible things. I asked Mel to include some local treats, and she has come up trumps! I am so happy and send HUGE THANKS to Mel for such a thoughtful box 🙂 Also thanks to Mel’s sister for hand delivering my parcel after Mel had carefully transported it to the UK!

Mel included a really lovely card which explained all the items for me. She also included (you can tell she has been browsing my blog!) some patterns for knitting fruit and pie. How fab! Knitted pies = very weight watchers friendly 😉 Also included are recipes for poffertjes (small, fluffy pancakes) and appeltaart (apple cake). I’ll make sure I blog when I make these – which will be soon 🙂

The first item is stroopwafels – waffles which are sandwiched with a syrup filling. Amazing, and very helpful in the stress relief front when dealing with a hacked email account and hotmail being not very helpful 😉 Mel kindly got me the mini size so I could share them with my little boy – will you think badly of me if I admit he hasn’t had any yet (and he better be quick as they are almost gone!).

Next are hagelslag (chocolate sprinkles), which are typically eaten for breakfast on bread. I think I would like living in Amsterdam (Mel also says they eat a lot of cheese, and I am a cheesy sort of person)! These are really good quality so I’ll be able to use them in baking and all sorts too.

Finally I have a jar of speculoos pasta (paste). Speculoos are a traditional biscuit, and the paste is flavoured as the biscuit, with the texture of smooth peanut butter. I have had some on toast (yummy and I could practically feel myself getting thinner 😉 ) but you can also use it for baking. I am going to investigate soon – hopefully this weekend if I get chance. A few recipes are around:

Purely for the sake of my readers (honest!) I have made a creation tonight to really make the most of my box – well, until I get baking tomorrow that is 🙂

If you are interested in joining the foodie penpals, and meeting lots of lovely people like Mel & Verity, check out Carol at This is Rock Salts blog

11 Comments

  1. ediblethings said,

    29 June 2012 at 22:21

    Do you know, I have all three of those items in my cupboard, and it NEVER occurred to me to combine them like that.

    Obviously, I shall be stealing the idea, and setting a new Dutch food trend :).

    So glad you liked the parcel, It was such fun to put together. Hope that you weren’t too stressed by the e-mail hack.

    • 29 June 2012 at 23:14

      hehe 😉 not too stressed now sorted – phew! thanks somuch again for my lovely bits 🙂 x

  2. 29 June 2012 at 23:43

    […] for her to have used any of the ingredients. If you want to see what I got for Lou, head over to her blog. So Many […]

  3. 1 July 2012 at 10:04

    Thanks for the mention 🙂 Isn’t speculoos spread heavenly – I’ve got half a jar in the cupboard and am contemplating some on toast for breakfast this morning!

    • 1 July 2012 at 22:16

      I have taken to eating it with a spoon every time i go into the pantry for something 😉

  4. 2 July 2012 at 00:07

    That combo sounds delicious!

  5. bakingaitch said,

    3 July 2012 at 22:00

    That’s an exciting and interesting box of goodies. It’s always great to sample the delights of other countries.

  6. 7 July 2012 at 14:41

    my first month as a foodie penpal and really looking forward to receiving a box from Belgium and creating one for a lady called Paula

    • 27 July 2012 at 09:57

      Hope you’ve had a lovely box! Sorry only just seen your comment 🙂

      • 27 July 2012 at 12:29

        yes it was full of lovely things made some yummy biscuits and truffles with the ingredients sent 🙂

  7. 2 August 2012 at 00:46

    […] was also thinking ahead to possible foodie penpals. When I sent my first parcel out, I found to my penpal’s cost that sending jars mean that I can send much less, due to weight limitations. A nice work around is […]


Leave a Reply

